...If there were anyone in the classical guitar world that could manage to combine musical elegance with architectural logic, it would be Yuri Liberzon.
— Classical Guitar Magazine


¡Acentuado!, the second album of classical guitarist Yuri Liberzon, has been released on major digital platforms and the traditional CD format. The ten-track recording features Argentine-born Astor Piazzolla’s six Tango-Études and all four movements of Historie du Tango: Bordel 1900, Café 1930, Nightclub 1960 and Concert d’aujourd’hui.

“It certainly is a different journey from my first album Ascension in which the audience got a taste of a variety of music from Bach to Beatles,” said Liberzon. “Acentuado means ‘accented’ in Spanish. The title conveys a fundamental element of tango music and dance. This album is my dedication to Piazzolla, in my opinion one of the masters of lyrical melody.”

Tango-Études, a lesser known collection of studies in the guitar genre, were originally composed for flute. Famed classical guitar master Manuel Barrueco, with whom Liberzon studied at Peabody Conservatory of the John’s Hopkins University, transcribed the études and added them to the solo guitar repertoire.

The second half of the album features Historie du Tango, widely known as one of the most famous compositions by Piazzolla. “Everyone who appreciates tango knows or should know Historie du Tango,” said Liberzon. “Piazzolla not only crafted the mesmerizing sound in these four distinctive movements but also the vivid visual imagination of the history and evolution of tango.” Flute is performed by principal flutist of the Orquesta Sinfónica de Puerto Rico (OSPR) Josué Casillas in his first collaboration with Liberzon.

¡Acentuado! is produced by Liberzon and Nahuel Bronzini. The complete album can be purchased at www.yuriguitar.com with digital download available at iTune, Spotify and all major digital platforms.

Music by Astor Piazzolla
6 Tango-Études

Histoire du Tango

1. Tango-Études - No. 1, Decidé
2. Tango-Études - No. 2, Anxieux et rubato
3. Tango-Études - No. 3, Molto marcato e energico
4. Tango-Études - No. 4, Lento, meditativo
5. Tango-Études - No. 5, Sans indication
6. Tango-Études - No. 6, Avec anxieté
7. Histoire du Tango - Bordel 1900
8. Histoire du Tango - Café 1930
9. Histoire du Tango - Nightclub 1960
10. Histoire du Tango - Concert d'aujourd'hui



Name *
Press Interview Request


Russian-born and Israeli-raised classical guitarist Yuri Liberzon has been recognized for his impressive technical ability and musicality. USCIS has granted Mr. Liberzon ‘Alien of Extraordinary Ability’ United States Permanent Residency based on his achievements in the music field.

Solo concerts appearances include:
Marlow Guitar Series in Maryland, Lesher Center in Walnut Creek, Legion of Honor in San Francisco and 92nd Street Y in New York. Chamber and Orchestra appearances as soloist include: Diablo Symphony Orchestra, Palo Alto Chamber Orchestra, Gold Coast Chamber Players and Quartet San Francisco.

Media appearances include: Voice of America International Radio Station, Kol HaMusica National Classical Music Radio Station of the Israel Broadcasting Authority, KUHF (NPR Houston), KUSF San Francisco, WDR German Television Network, San Francisco Chronicle and Classical Guitar Magazine.

Mr. Liberzon’s most influential teacher at a young age was Maestro Yaron Hasson with whom he studied for 6 years in Israel before coming to the United States. He has been a frequent recipient of scholarships from the America-Israel Cultural Foundation.

Motivated by a desire to realize his potential, Yuri was privileged to come to the United States as a student to study at the Peabody Conservatory of the Johns Hopkins University. He was awarded full scholarships to study with two of the world’s leading guitar masters: Manuel Barrueco and Benjamin Verdery. Yuri received his Bachelor’s degree and Graduate Performance Diploma from Peabody Conservatory as well as Master’s degree from Yale University.

In addition to his arrangements and transcriptions, his expertise has been called on to judge competitions in the United States, such as the Beatty Music Competition for the Classical Guitar in Washington D.C and San Francisco Conservatory of Music.

His arrangements of Domenico Scarlatti and J. S. Bach have been published in SoundBoard magazine, the official quarterly magazine of the Guitar Foundation of America. In 2015 he released a debut record ‘Ascension’ which was highly praised by respectable publications and critics including Classical Guitar Magazine, Fanfare and the Muse’s Muse.

To learn more about Yuri, please visit www.yuriguitar.com.

For all booking inquires, please contact jim.fung@captivateartists.com